Best country for a beginner?
What country would you recommend for a game beginner? Let's say, someone who is middle aged and coming out of a divorce. Somebody who has traveled internationally a bit, but not for bangs, and has OK looks.

Asking for a friend.

Some thoughts based on reading:

-Philippines. The most obvious choice.
-Indonesia. Also looks good but more focused on nightlight scene -- maybe better for younger guys?
-Vietnam. Heard good things about the women, but the language barrier looks formidable.
-Thailand. Probably another obvious choice.
-Uganda. Love the sound of it, but logistics-wise, doesn't seem like a country for beginners.
-Peru. Strong contender, best enjoyed by those who have some Spanish ability.
-Mexico. Mixed reviews, but very convenient for North Americans.

Any other ideas?
Do you have money?
The Philippines island. All you have to do is read the blog posts and you'll get hot girls in no time.
For an absolute beginner there's no better/easier country than Philippines. The girls speak English, it's cheap, white god factor is still slightly noticeable and you'll be able to get SNLs.

Don't try to over complicate this, send your friend to Manila or Cebu then enjoy hearing him rave about how girls overseas are just "different".
I can't comment on the Philippines besides what I've read on the forums, but can definitely say that Mexico is not for beginners unless he's got decent Spanish. Mexicanas can be either really conservative or really cunning. If your friend thinking Latin America, he should be thinking Peru.
Country-wise, I think you nailed it in the OP. City-wise, there is still some choice.

With that said --- I think for a game beginner going abroad muddies the waters and can be counter-productive for 2-of-the-3 game modalities.

- Night Game (harder to learn abroad)
- Day Game (harder to learn abroad)
- Online Game (equal learning home or abroad)