Exercise Injury Prevention Thread
Brick 
We all know exercise is key to staying in shape. Other than motivation/will-power issues, I've come to realize that the biggest issue plaguing everyone is injuries, especially amongst people who weightlift.

Personally, I started lifting at age 16 when I joined my highschool's football team, became hardcore by age 17, and was putting up (relatively) big numbers by 18 (365 backsquat, 425 deadlift, 275 bench, power clean 225 for reps).

Unfortunately, it was all downhill from there. Throughout my weightlifting (& exercise) career in the last decade+ I've injured basically every part of body: shin splints, sprained hamstrings, hip joint pain from glute:hamstring muscular imbalance, tweaked my lower back, aches in my right scapular area, pulled tricep, wrist pain and those are just the ones I'm remembering off the top of my head.

Over time, I started lifting less and less, and added restrictions for myself such as switching from barbells to dumbbells, not going for 1-rep maxes and not keeping a detailed journal of what I lifted each workout (which obviously encourages you to try to beat your personal bests). In fact, for a good period while I was traveling I stopped lifting entirely and just did bodyweight work. From the quotes below, it seems this is a common thing:

(06-15-2019, 11:38 PM)dapper Wrote: I hurt my shoulders and lower back a few times. Now I do bodyweight exercises, a lot of walking and taking the stairs multiple times per day at work in addition to my physical therapy.
Via: https://www.swooptheworld.com/forum/show...1#pid10581

(05-29-2019, 07:24 PM)CrashBangWallop Wrote: I used to be considerably bigger and more muscular than I am now. Strength training.

A few years back now I stopped lifting weights really as my body was just falling apart at 33/34.

These days I exclusively train Muay Thai but I'm beginning to get too many injuries for that too. Quite depressing really, but anyway.