SwoopTheWorld
How to get into a US Medical School - Printable Version

+- SwoopTheWorld (https://www.swooptheworld.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Forums (https://www.swooptheworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Lifestyle Forum (https://www.swooptheworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Thread: How to get into a US Medical School (/showthread.php?tid=3029)

How to get into a US Medical School - balkan - 01-03-2021

Don't imagine this would apply to many people on this forum but figure I'd put it out there. I'm a medical student at a US MD school and have helped a handful of applicants get into other MD schools. Medicine is a long road but still a decent shuttle to the upper-middle class and a consistently good salary. For the European bros, US medical school starts after a traditional 4 year undergraduate "pre-med" experience. It's quite redundant and arguably wastes years but is what it is. Here are the 10 main points that assisted me through the process.

#1 Ace the MCAT. In 2016, the MCAT changed formats from a scale of 45 with three categories to one of 528 with four categories. The addition of a psychology/sociology section is the closest you'll get to free points. Ideally you want a 90%+ percentile which is 512+. Using digital flash card spaced repetition software like anki and plowing throw the highest volume of practice questions you can handle is often the best strategy. You can take it up to 4 times, re-schedule, and void scores. Be wary of approaching this casually as many schools average the scores of those who take the MCAT multiple times. This should be taken after you've completed the core science curriculum, which is usually the spring of your 3rd year or winter break of 4th year.