SwoopTheWorld
Career advice for an early 30s guy who feels lost and directionless? - Printable Version

+- SwoopTheWorld (https://www.swooptheworld.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Forums (https://www.swooptheworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Lifestyle Forum (https://www.swooptheworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Thread: Career advice for an early 30s guy who feels lost and directionless? (/showthread.php?tid=2932)

Pages: 1 2

Career advice for an early 30s guy who feels lost and directionless? - irishguy - 11-05-2020

Bear with me for the long post. I am looking for career advice because I still feel like I don't know what I want to do even though I'm in my early 30s. I think the background context is important to explain things properly. 

After attending college for 4 years and getting my degree, I entered the corporate world aged 24 and immediately felt like it wasn't right for me. I have a good degree to my name in a mathematical/statistical discipline that pays well (actuarial science). The problem is that I chose my degree for the wrong reason: I found it boring as fuck and I only studied it precisely because it paid well. 

The reality hit home when I entered the corporate world and worked for an insurance company, spending my days on Excel doing boring shit, fantasizing about seeing more of the world (a few months before my first job I visited SE Asia alone and really liked it), and hating mostly everything about the job except the after-work drinks that sometimes happened with colleagues.