SwoopTheWorld
Perception/Treatment of Mental Illness by Country - Printable Version

+- SwoopTheWorld (https://www.swooptheworld.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Forums (https://www.swooptheworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Everything Else (https://www.swooptheworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: Perception/Treatment of Mental Illness by Country (/showthread.php?tid=3043)

Perception/Treatment of Mental Illness by Country - AirWaves - 01-08-2021

Creating a new thread as Suits suggested to continue the conversation:

(01-08-2021, 02:23 PM)Suits Wrote:
(01-08-2021, 03:50 AM)Blake2 Wrote: Chaining the mentally ill in Indonesia has been in the news recently. Definitely some strange cultural practices. But is it worse than the US, where the mentally ill are often homeless? Its tough being a schizophrenic, even on a tropical island paradise.

I'm not an expert on the topic, but my best guess is that every society could probably improve on how they deal with mental illness.

However, from what I understand many mentally ill homeless people in the US and Canada are in the circumstances that they are because they refuse to accept the services and treatment that is available. Not sure how accurate that is overall. Would love to hear from some members that are more knowledgeable on the topic, but that should be its own thread to avoid cluttering up this one.

A nurse in my social circle back in Atlanta 6-7 years ago who worked with homeless confirmed it for me: unfortunately, many homeless people there were also mentally ill. As someone who rarely interacted with them (car-based city), I wasn't aware of the correlation.

It also probably didn't help that the homeless shelter in the city was shut down due to some combination of local or city government pressure. Classic NIMBY (Not In My Back Yard), regardless of your politics.